Trying to be More Like Mary

9 05 2015

I’ve always had a soft spot for Martha.  Sure,  her Sister Mary gets the credit for sitting at Jesus’s feet,  for being more spiritual,  for apparently having her priorities straight,  but somebody had to get supper on the table. I can imagine the crowd of disciples getting hungry and expecting food to be ready for them.

But this past week,  it hit me.  I’ve been so busy trying to get through the list of things to do–which grew from 2 pages to 5–that I’ve spent very little time reflecting on what we’re doing.

We are going to be seeing much more of our country than we ever have before.  Granted, it’s going to be a very tiny corridor and we’ll never be able to say we saw the whole thing, but we will be in at least 8 provinces.

We are doing this by bicycle, no group,  no sag wagon, just us, on our own schedule.  I  am so grateful that we’re able to this. I get to spend time in the mountains, experience the wide open skies of the prairies, I’ll stand on the shore of both oceans in the same summer.

We’ve got the financial resources to be able to go for 3 months without a salary, we don’t have to stress about whether or not we can afford a hotel room when it’s pouring rain or we just want to sleep in a bed. We can choose to eat in a restaurant or cook our own food.

We’ve got the time. So many things had to fall into place for us to be able to do this.  I’m not working,  Ken completed his contract a few months early.

Physically we are able. We are healthy. I know there will be days that are tough, but I’m sure that with a bit of Tylenol for the aches, pains and muscle soreness, we’ll manage. Considering the scare I had with my stiff neck, this feels like such a gift.

In the last few days,  I’ve purposely spent some time thinking about all of these things, and even taking some time to enjoy the spring flowers. I’m trying to be more like Mary.

20150509_192712 20150509_192651 20150509_192447

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

